World News

S expects possibility of forming government: Deve Gowda

S expects possibility of forming government: Deve Gowda

The fate of almost 2,644 candidates in 222 of 224 assembly constituencies was sealed in Saturday's polls that passed off peacefully amid tight security.

People queue up to cast their ballot during the polling day for the Karnataka assembly elections in Bengaluru on Saturday.

A victory in Karnataka will also reflect the enduring charisma of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his capacity to power his party to victory across the country, clearing demographic and topographical obstacles.

Indicating a tight race between BJP and Congress, most exit polls for the Karnataka Assembly elections today forecast a hung assembly with JD (S) likely to play the kingmaker, but were divided on which of the two national parties would emerge as the largest in the House.

"The BJP will win 145 to 150 seats", Yeddyurappa said, according to the Hindustan Times.

The ruling Congress blamed the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) after the incident, calling it a conspiracy hatched by the party leaders in the apartment that allegedly belonged to a former BJP Corporator Manjula Nanjamari.

While one may say that they are only doing their duty, a majority of the staff is made up of low- to middle-rung government officials who travel to unfamiliar places, get minimal facilities and do a hard job under trying circumstances. Then came the Times Now-VMR exit poll predictions that too showed the Congress in an advantageous position with more than 100 seats.

Mr Yeddyurappa himself resigned from his post as chief minister in 2012 amid allegations that he abused his power.

When asked about Exit polls, he refused to comment on them. Jan Ki Baat also expected similar numbers as they calculated 105 seats for BJP, 78 for Congress and 37 for JD (S). There is no need to have connection with any other political party, " he told reporters at his posh Dollars Colony residence here.

However, various Exit polls conducted by visual media on Saturday had predicted a fractured mandate. While this gives 39 per cent of the vote share to the Congress, it gives 35 per cent vote share and a range of 79-92 seats to the BJP. "Others", that includes independents, could win only three seats, it said.

With the state reporting an overall voting of record 72.13 per cent, the lowest voting in the state was reported from Dasarahalli with 48.03 per cent polling followed by C V Raman Nagar 48.98 per cent (both in the city). The 11-hour voting process, which began at 7 am, witnessed few glitches across the state with few electronic voting machines malfunctioning in certain constituencies, missing names in the voter lists etc. Polling was held in 58,008 booths in the state which has 5.06 crore electorates.